



# 2022 School of Medicine Achievement Awards

Dear School of Medicine Community,

The success of any medical school depends on the dedication of its faculty, residents and staff to the pursuit of teaching. Over the past few months, we have seen this dedication manifest in new ways as UCI has adapted to the unexpected challenges of the day.

We would like to thank all our faculty, residents and medical education staff for their unwavering commitment to the professional development of our medical students. This excellence is especially crucial as we educate a new generation of physicians entering the medical profession at such a critical time.

We are excited to highlight the 2022 School of Medicine Achievement Award recipients.

# The Sterling Staph Award

Presented by the students to a resident in recognition of their excellence in teaching

- Prashanth Venkataraman, MD (Department of Neurology)
- Emily Du, MD (Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology)

### The Golden Apple Award

Awarded to a clinical faculty member for outstanding teaching

Alisa Wray, MD (Department of Emergency Medicine)

The Silver Beaker Award for Excellence in Teaching by a Basic Science Faculty Member

Presented to a basic science faculty member for excellence in teaching, as voted by the MS1

and MS2 classes

Jamie Wikenheiser, PhD (Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology)

### **AMSG Excellence in Teaching - First Year Course**

Presented to a course for excellence in teaching, as voted by the student body

Anatomy

### **AMSG Excellence in Teaching - Second Year Course**

Presented to a course for excellence in teaching, as voted by the student body

Pharmacology

# **AMSG Excellence in Teaching - Third Year Clerkship**

Presented to a course for excellence in teaching, as voted by the student body

• Internal Medicine

# **Medical Education Excellence in Teaching**

Certificate given to faculty who are recognized for outstanding student evaluations and contributions to a course/clerkship

#### **Basic Science Lecturer**

- Milton Greenberg, PhD (Department of Medicine, Division of Basic & Clinical Immunology)
- Autumn Ivy, MD, PhD (Department of Physiology & Biophysics)
- Kei Igarashi, PhD (Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology)

# **Clinical Science Attending/Resident/Faculty**

- Steven Mills, MD (Department of Surgery)
- Nkiruka Chuba, MD (Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology)

### Residents

- Nadia Zuabi, MD (Department of Emergency Medicine)
- Jana Florian, MD (Department of Emergency Medicine)

### **Clinical Science Lecturer**

- Lourdes Swentek, MD (Department of Surgery)
- Melissa Mao, MD (Department of Surgery)
- Donna Baick, MD (Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology)

### AMSG Service Award - Bob Hammer Staff of the Year

Award presented to staff as voted by the Associated Medical Student Government as giving outstanding service to the entire student body

Nancy Guirguis, EdD

# **Dean's Scholar/Clinical Foundations**

 Bobby Sasson, MD (Department of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine & Primary Care)

### **Medical Education Faculty Service Award**

Award presented by the Office of Medical Education to a faculty member in appreciation of outstanding service in medical education

Sara Stern-Nezer, MD

### **Medical Education Staff Service Award**

Award presented by the Office of Medical Education to staff in appreciation of outstanding service in medical education

Courtney Strayer

### **Medical Education Department Chair Award**

Award granted to a department chair or division chief who has promoted student development and exemplifies the spirit of medical education

• Robert Bristow, MD

Please join us in congratulating the outstanding individuals and thank them for their hard work and commitment to our students!

Sincerely,

Michael J. Stamos, MD Dean, School of Medicine

Khanh-Van Le-Bucklin, MD, MEd Vice Dean, Medical Education

© 2022 The Regents of the University of California. All rights reserved. Proprietary and Confidential. For Internal Distribution Only.











